The Blomac history

A rich history and tradition ...

Roman origin

As early as in the year 120 BC the name of the present Blomac can be found in documents about Narbonne. Blomac goes back as far as Merovingian times, but most likely it origines in Roman times. Taking the development of the word Blomac into consideration: From Villa Bulmado (10th century) to Blumatum (12th century). Then Blomatum in the 15th- and Blomat in the 16th century. From the 18th century onwards the village is called Blomac.

The old castle of Blomac (10th - to 17th century) was almost situated against the church, where nowadays the chai (cellar) and winery can be found. The castle was owned by the powerful abbots of the abbey of Lagrasse. The abbots were the lords of Blomac. In 1635 the castle was taken over by the Comignan family.


Scutcheon de Blomac

The coat of arms of Blomac contains elements of the successive lords of Blomac. The main sign is that of a golden tower. Is was taken from Nigri family, that holds 4 golden towers. The swan is symbol of the powerful Comignan family from Comigne (a village near Blomac). The Star was taken from the coat of arms of the Rolland family. This family bought half the land and the sovereignty of Blomac on 17 November 1786. This family starts the construction of the present castle.

The golden waves of the coat of arms reminds us of the presence of the Aude river and the three sandstones symbolise the patron saint of the village of St Stephanus.

Lastly the ornaments of the vine and the olive tree indicate that they have been playing a main part in the life of the village.

Contact information

Chateau de Blomac
9, Place des Marronniers
11700 Blomac

T: +33 (0)6 47459951